Testimonials

"Thank your decorating the house so beautifully for Christmas and enabling us to enjoy an "alternative" Christmas this year. Storms Barbra & Conor stopped us getting in the hot tub for Xmas day but cold and clear last night and the stars were wonderful, Christine x December 2016"
"A great time had by all. Hot tub great after 6 mile strenuous!! You may have heard us laughing (we did all weekend!!) We also achieved a great mannequin challenge (you may have to Google that) Will remember lots about this weekend but mainly the stunning view. Thank you. Mandy, Julie, Julie, Jacky, Claire, Caroline, Karen, Alice. Nov '16"
"Dear Jacquie and Steve, Thank you for a lovely stay in your amazing house! It was perfect for 11 of us - so well equipped!! And we loved the hot tub too! Thank you Jen. September '16"
"OMG!! This amazing house was everything and more!! We all came here to relax, chill and rejuvenate and that is exactly what we have done!! Hot tub watching a beautiful star filled night with Pimms and friends is awesome!! Lazy days by the pool, tennis when we wanted and then a fabulous house to chill out in. What a fantastic package!! Trudy & Russ Sept 2016 "
"Wow! So much better than we could have hoped for. It is so nice to kick back in the hot tub and watch shooting stars with a cold Pimms. The kids have loved the pool and the tennis. If you can go prawning at Abbotsham Cliffs, we had an unforgettable time. Also the Thatched Inn does great food but you must book ahead. S Ellison. It was an amazing experience!! I enjoyed having my 10th birthday here in Southclay. I made some amazing memories never to be forgotten :-) Matilda Sept 2016"
"Wonderful venue for a family week - many thanks. Hot tub heaven! A truly fabulous week & so much to do for every generation. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality xx The Newmans and Flemings and Coopers and Locks. Aug 2106"
"Lovely time. Loved the house facilities & all the games and the hot tub and pool were awesome! We visited Thatched Inn - delicious food, fantastic service 6 minute walk with the kids. Had a very cute time at the Gnome Reserve - 6 miles away. Next to a GORGEOUS art gallery. Can also recommend a day trip to Clovelly. Rock pooling at local beach at low tide 1.5mile walk, steep path, fantastic crabs! David, Kate, Jo Dan, Luke, Harry & Isla, Lara, Jon, Amber & Holly. August 2106"
"A great week - thanks so much. Perfect for a big gathering & so much fun xx Aug 2106 "
"What a wonderful week! The house with the comforts of home & the excitement of being on holiday! Would recommend to anyone. Chris and Jade. Great week, loved the hot tub after tennis. Thank you, Mike. Loved the hot tub, pool table and gardens. Lovely house and lovely area. Thank you :-) Ellie and Callum. July 16 "
"Wonderful house, gardens, hot tub, views and facilities. Wonderful week. Will book to come again next year. Sue, Mike, family and friends, July 16"
"Great Hen Weekend! Facilities at the house were amazing, hardly left the house as so perfect location and weather. Pool helped as well as the butler :-) Fab Girl Fun! Will be back. Jack & the girls. June 2016. PS The Beavers are best!"
"A lovely house with great facilities & enjoyed by all. Many thanks. Geoff Cox & family. June 2016"
"We have all had a wonderful holiday here. The house is beautiful and we made full use of the wonderful facilities. Local pub is fab! Thanks xxx June 16"
"Brilliant weekend! Thank you ever-so much! The House and The Annex are beautiful. Can't wait to come back! May 2016"
"Had a truly fabulous weekend. The house & facilities were second to none. Many thanks for letting "The Hens" stay in your beautiful home. It is a pity to leave. Laura's Hens. April 2016"
"Had a fab weekend..... the house is beautiful & such a perfect location for beaches. Hot tub was the perfect addition to our weekend. Will definitely see you again. Nicola, Marina, Karen, Charlotte, Caroline, Vicky. March 2016"
"Thank you for a lovely week - very comfortable home - room for everyone. Lovely house, great hot tub, totally recommend star gazing in the hot tub! Thank you for lending us your beautiful home. Jane + the girls Feb 2016 "
"Thank you for such a great time, the house is amazing. Great walks, great hot tub, great fun! The Dunn Party. Jan 2016 "
"We had a lovely time at Southclay and brought our families together for a fun-filled New Year's celebration in Devon. January 2016"
"Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your lovely house - we had such a lovely time celebrating our family reunion! The house has such a lovely feel to it - so warm and welcoming - we loved every minute. December 2015 "
"Thank you for a wonderful wonderful break away! A truly beautiful house with breathtaking views! My Mum thoroughly enjoyed her surprise 60th break and we all think you have a house to be proud of. Many thanks for letting us stay a little longer and for being so helpful :-) With thanks, The Wiscombes/Tryharis and Smiths. Nov 15"
"Lovely house - we all enjoyed our stay. Dressed for Halloween at The Thatched Inn! Hot tubs were fab. You have thought of everything! Halloween 2015"
"Another great hol here! Thanks for a lovely place to stay - star gazing from the hot tub with Prosecco in hand was fab! See you again soon xx Oct 15"
"Thank you Jacquie for providing us with such a lovely place to stay! We have had a great weekend. Perfect place to party and celebrate graduating as midwives! Emma, Rachel, Kayleigh, Beth, Lucy & Grace. Sept 15"
"We absolutely loved this "Home away from home" Very well equipped. We loved the pool table and the hot tub. Brilliant location too. Looking forward to coming back here in the near future! October 2015 "
"Wonderful family week away topped off with an engagement! Beautiful house and plenty of amazing memories made. Andy, Hannah, Lydia, John, Emma, Evie, Nia, Sammy and Mary from South Wales. Aug 2015"
"A great place for a family holiday. Loved the pool, hot tub and tennis court. Surfing and the Ultimate Assault Course were great too. Thank you very much for a lovely holiday - we even saw the sun most of the week!! from London, Wales and Kent... August 2015"
"An amazing house and Annex! We loved spending the week in Southclay! A great base for a large family to enjoy and explore Devon. Ideal location near The Big Sheep, the village pub, various beaches and shopping of course! The hot tubs, pool and tennis court came in handy too! We would definitely come again :-) The Young and Thompson families. August 2015"
"We had a wonderful time here!!! Love Olga & Theo. Aug 2015"
"A great base from which to explore this part of Devon. Very spacious property with lots of activities on site to amuse the children. Throw in a table tennis table and it would be complete :-) Places that we went and would recommend: Tarka Trail - Bideford Bike Hire (ask for a comfy bike seat) lunch at Fremington Quay - can't book, gets busy) Tea on the Taw in Barnstaple Thatched Inn - reasonable pub grub in walking distance North Devon Surf School at Westward Ho! (don't go surfing at high tide) Tarka Pottery at Little Torrington (3 generations had a go on potters wheel) The Ultimate Adventure Centre in the village. The 5 boys had a great day here (Total Wipeout "Big Balls" highly amuzing to watch!) The Lightning family July 2015"
"Had an amazing week, felt like we were at home, all the creature comforts & amazing views, will def visit again. Ems x July 15"
"Fantastic Weekend. Would recommend to one and all! Deserves its 5 Stars! Whenman, June 2015 "
"June 2015 Thank you for a great girly weekend away in your wonderful house. Lots of amazing memories made and an unforgettable 40th for Lisa. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks. Kelly, Lisa, Sam, Jazz, Leanne, Paula, Sarah, Tash, Jo, Lisa, Donna"
"A really wonderful holiday home which (thankfully) survived the excesses of the Cunouty Tennis Tour! Great walks finished off in the hot tub and some great tennis, pool and swimming pool antics! All in all a super week! Cunouty Tennis Club, Esher May 2015"
"A lovely week away - A very comfortable, accommodating house with lots of nooks. Wonderful view. Hope to return. See you again. The Graham Family May 2015"
"Thank you so much for an amazing week! The house was absolutely brilliant and everything we needed. We had such fun and would love to come back! Thank you Jacquie! Amelia, Megan, Sophie, Beth, Ben, Lawrence, Jake, Adam, Nic & Alex xx"
"Easter 2015 Thanks for such a fab holiday! The house couldn't have been better. We were really comfy and had loads of space. The hot tub was fab and made us all sit still and soak up the beautiful views. The older children (10 & 13) lover the Adrenalin centre at the High Ropes whilst the younger ones loved the Big Sheep. We also had a brilliant horse ride at North Devon Equestrian Centre. Adults enjoyed Closely and Prosecco in the hot tub! Thank you for a wonderful time and memories that will last - from a v. relaxed family - so sad to leave :-( The Robsons, Roberts and Conrans"
"Wow!10/10 We've had a wonderful holiday - Thank you xxx Chris and Catrina Sawyer 2016"
"I can honestly say we have had the most amazing time! Jacquie was so lovely and The Annex was more than we could have wished for. Everything we could possibly need was there. I can not thank you enough and really hope we can return again very soon. Sue, Vicki and Jonty x Feb 2016"
"This was a wonderful place for us to stay for a few days. The pool, tennis court and hot tub kept the kids occupied whilst we had some down time! Thank you very much! October 2015"
"A perfect stay for us. We would definitely like to repeat in the future. Many thanks. Hannah, Sally, Rob and Kev. Autumn 2015"
"The Annex is brilliant. Perfect spot for a family. Couldn't get the kids out of the hot tub even when it rained! Thanks for everything Jacquie and Steve. Your place is great! The Walls. Sept 2105"
"We've had a wonderful week. The Annex is lovely with everything you'd need. Very cosy and welcoming. Jacquie was VERY helpful and the holiday was good fun. Thank you. August 2015"
"Had a lovely time despite the weather. Great location and facilities. Excellent support from Jacquie and Steve when needed. Thank you x Sue, Richard & Joseph Clow. August 2015"
"Fantastic Accommodation. What a treat to have a pool and a hot tub! We would recommend the carver in the village pub and Tea on the Green, Westward Ho! - cakes to die for (gluten free too!) and doorstep sandwiches. Lovely memories of North Devon. We will see you again. Julia, Jon, Thomas and Lewis. July 2105"
"Another lovely week in The Annex - very relaxing. This year the boys got into surfing (Saunton Sands and Westward Ho!) We upgraded our kite and cycled from Great Torrington to Instow where we had a picnic on the beach. We will see you again next year! Emily x July 2015"
"Lovely week in "The Annex" Home from home, very comfortable with the added bonus of the pool and the hot tub which we made great use of! Would recommend this cottage to everyone- Thank you! May 2015"
"Thank you for a wonderful stay. The cottage is beautiful and equipped with everything we could have needed. We all enjoyed the log fire, the hot tub, views and The Thatched Inn Pub just down the road. New Year 2015"
"A spotlessly clean, comfortable and very welcoming holiday home in a perfect location. With the Atlantic Village shops just around the corner and so many natural attractions to visit plus the hot tub at the end of the day, yo really couldn't wish for more! Many thanks October 2014. The Outran Family. "
"We have had a fantastic week here - the cottages located in a great spot with lots of local attractions on your doorstep. The Big Sheep is a brilliant day out for families. We have used the hot tub everyday & will miss it when we leave! It has definitely felt like a home from home! Many thanks from The Miller Family. Aug 2104"
"We loved The Annex as soon as we walked in - in fact we thought you might have to evict us! Thank you Jacqui + Steve for making us feel so welcome. We've had a brilliant, fun-filled but relaxing week in beautiful North Devon. Sarah, Dave, Alex and Emily. August 14"
"An amazing week in The Annex. The place, facilities, area and weather was perfect! Wonderful family time, thank you for an incredible week we will certainly be coming back! The Taylor family July 14"
"Thank you for a fabulous wee. We have enjoyed every minute. So much to do - swimming every day in the sea or in the pool, cycling form Great Torrington to Bideford but the highlight was finally learning to fly a kite at Westward Ho! We loved The Annex and everything about it. The Youngs x July 2014"
"We had a fantastic holiday at "The Annex". Brilliant facilities - especially the pool and hot tub which Imogen has loved. Very comfortable beds and relaxing environment. Thank you for making us welcome. We would definitely visit again in the future. The Williams Family, June 14."
"We had a super time thank you - What luxury! Perfect R+R and close to the surf! We will definitely be back! April 2014"
"Fantastic cottage. Very comfortable beds. Spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the hot tub. Thanks you Jacquie and Steve for a lovely stay. March 2014"
"A fabulous weekend break! Johns Supermarket and Deli produce was delightful! The Annex was our cosy home for 3 days, Jacquie made us feel most welcome and introduced us to the hot tub which was amazing! Thank you so much! Visual & Indy. Feb 2014"
"Brilliant weekend away in a beautiful cottage. Hot tub was amazing even with the awful weather! Jan 2104"
"Thank you for a great weeks getaway in this lovely North Devon setting. We particularly enjoyed the cosy wood burner, hot tub and underfloor heating in this 5 star accommodation. We would recommend a romantic meal at Memories restaurant and thank you Jacquie for babysitting for us! A walk to the Hoops Inn via the coastal path is also recommended but bear in mind it is very hilly - takes about 3 hrs - bus back is essential! The Big Sheep, Clovelly and pub lunches were fantastic. Thank you The Ritchies. Nov 2013"
"Had such an amazing time, the weather has been amazing and so is this annex! The facilities can not be faulted! The hot tub and pool have been greatly enjoyed! The log burner, the fab heated floors and everything has made such an amazing short break. Thank you for accommodating us at short notice and just being so lovely! We will be back! October 2013"
"So glad I found The Annex, it is really a gem. Last minute booking and it exceeded our expectations. Excellent hosts, wonderful scenery - will be back for longer. October 2105"
"Lovely escape from reality. Felt like we were so far from home. Amazing hot tub and pool. Looking to come and stay longer. Nik & Adam, Exeter September 13"
"We had a lovely weekend in the beautiful Annex. We may have to invest in a hot tub back home! Thank you, everything was perfect! x Nikola + Simon September 2015"
"Beautiful place - it had everything a couple could want. Barkers. Aylesbury, August 2013"
"We had a lovely week and The Annex was perfect for us. The beach at Westward Ho! and a cream tea at Tea on the Green were our highlights. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The Howard Family from Nottingham. Aug 2013"
"Annex: We have enjoyed our stay very much. Your welcome was very warming. The place was perfect in every way for our needs. Thank you August 2013"
"The moment we walked through the door we knew we were going to have a great week and we weren't disappointed The facilities were first class and the hot tub was a nice way to unwind after a busy day with a couple of kids! Jacquie and Steve you're such lovely people and nothing was too much trouble. We'll definitely be back and recommending you to our friends xx June 2013"
"Thank you for letting us stay in the lovely Annex. We've had a great week enjoying 'tennis' the pool and the hot tub. It was lovely to meet you too.We've packed a lot into a week - Appledore, Instow, Braunton, Barnstaple, Croyde, Bude, Boscastle, Tintagel, Clovely etc! We would love to see you again soon. Thanks again, sorry Tom didn't have time to make his chocolate souffle :-)"
"Thank you for a super time. The Annex is in a wonderful spot and despite the weather being a bit iffy, we managed to get out everyday and explored the delightful Devon countryside. We will be back! The Corbetts, May 2103"
"Thank you we've had a lovely chilled time in your wonderful cottage. (Isabella has left lots of handprints to remind you of us!) Keith, Claire and Isabella Feb 2013"
"We are 4 couples & 2 dogs from Bristol & we've had brilliant week. The house has everything you could possibly need. We used the hot tub every day. The best couple had the best bedroom :-) (Next year they are having the bunk beds!) Fantastic home - really enjoyed it. Thank you x April 2013"
"14 friends from Bristol... Thank your a great weekend - the main house and Annex are both amazing properties giving us everything we could want! Cheers! April 2013"
"Ideal for an extended family reunion! With all that Southclay offers it was tremendous, super for the various age groups! Thank you The Crumps and Freegards July 13"
"A wonderfully perfect and enjoyable week, just what was required following a busy work and academic year. The house is very comfortable with stunning views when waking - what a treat! Thank you also for the wonderful welcome and all the thoughtful extras, kindest regards E Kennedy, Strathaven, Scotland - 20th July 2013"
"Our one week at Southclay has gone far too quickly. The whole family (11 of us) had a fantastic time making full use of the pool, tennis court and hot tub. Thank you Jackie for the scones and many other personal touches. Best wishes Janet and Jim Greggains July 2013"
"The week went far too quick!! Really enjoyable holiday, lovely house. Thomas Family - Sept 13"
"We have had a lovely week despite the rain! The house is amazing and we have had great fun in the hot tub and playing pool. Unfortunately didn't get to use the heated pool as it was a little cold. A really memorable holiday, would love to come back, thank you form the Lawrences September 2013"
"We have had a great week in North Devon and explored all the local attractions - recommend Appledore (Sylvester's Fish and Chips) Instow and Westward Ho! - the beach is stunning!! Lynmouth also with a visit as is Clovelly. Beautiful house, pool perfect for a chill out! Thank you for the lovely welcome, hope to come back soon. Best wishes Rachel and Ben from Norwich - Sept 13"
"Brilliant time had by all, fantastic house, great landlords and we highly recommend the "Thatched Inn" down the road! Will definitely be returning next year! Thank you! Oct 13"
"Thank you, we had a lovely time. Very spacious property with ample bedroom accommodation and comfy beds. Would recommend to others and would love to return in the future. November 2013"
"3 generations had a fab 3 days. Lovely party house, everything you need including heavenly hot tub after a 20 mile bike ride! Lovely views. be back in Summer months - The Nash family & co March 2014"
"Fabulous time had by al, thank you! Beautiful cottage with fab views. The hot tub was a real hit and the pool was relaxing area to chill but a little too cold. Jackie and Steve were so welcoming, a big thank you from us all. xx !8th April 2014"
"A great base from which to discover N Devon. So much to do fro young children, especially the Milky Way and Big Sheep and cycling on the Tarka Trail. The swimming pool and hot tub were particularly popular! Thank your a lovely stay. The La Frenais & Davies Families - May 2014"
"Great place to stay, so much to see and do in this lovely part of the world. We will be back! Thank you Jackie and Steve JULY 2014"
"We had a wonderful week staying at Southclay. The beach, the warm welcome in church and the basic but fun amenities that came with the house (pool, hot tub, tennis court & trampoline) made for a great stay out here. THANK YOU JACQUIE & STEVE June 2014"
"On behalf of my family, I would like to say thank you so much for renting your lovely holiday home to us this week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment with all the facilities you offer, especially the pool and hot tub. Our little toddler loved the garden and his paddling pool and of course the playroom. The weather completed it with sun warm every day. We are all sad it has come to an end but would love to return in the near future. Thank you so much again. July 14 "
"What can we say?.... Fantastic week with perfect weather. House is spacious and met all our varied needs.... Lazy days spent alternating between pool and hot tub with games of tennis for those feeling more energetic :-) Evenings playing pool or doing jigsaws - all feeling relaxed and recuperated. Thank you for the loan of this beautiful home. The Potter Family July 2014"
"From the great welcome to the truly sad departure, a truly great week. Never mind ex-hurricane Bertha and the constraints on our activities imposed by the not infrequent squally showers, we couldn't have found a better venue for our big birthday reunion. Thank you Jacquie and Steve for being so accommodating (both literally and metaphorically!) The Dinmores of Wakefield, Derby and Witnay - August 2014"
"The Richards' second visit - Thank you for a great family week away. Amazing house, super for some R&R after the arrival of our latest addition - Isabella. The bread maker was a hit with Dad, Robin and the hot tub a bubbly delight after a busy day with the kids. We love this place and weren't disappointed with our second visit, back soon I'm sure! xx Dec 2014"
"Perfect base for our family holiday. Adults and kids loved the pool and appreciated borrowing the wetsuits. Very well equipped kitchen and pool table has been popular! Slow Wifi was disappointing but perfect location for exploring North Devon, we hope to be back again soon! The Dungaree-Hodges, Williams & Grove Families - August 2014"
"The Pittmans and Thomas' - Lovely welcome, beautiful house and surrounding area. Lots of fun in the pool and hot tub - went in everyday! Clovelly is definitely worth a visit and Appledore :-) Aug 2014"
"Such a great weekend! My fiancé Marcus and I will be back in Devon shortly for the Big Sheep Wedding Fair. We visited during the weekend and decided it would be a lovely location to get married! Thanks again! Imogen & Friends September 2014"
"We had a great weekend and would stay again. Lovely house in a great area. Comfortable beds, slept well. Love the hot tub We are defo coming back! Gill & Ian Dando and co. - Nov 2014"
"Thank you for an amazing time, perfect house with all you could need. Hot tub was a dream, great family time together. We will be back. November 2014"
"New Year celebrated in style! Dressed as penguins we loved the famous Bideford Fancy Dress NYE Party. We highly recommend the Abbotsham to the sea, cliff walk as well as the Country Life Brewery. Our week has been full of smiles, gorgeous weather, bubbles and great fun. Thank you for a lovely stay in this "cottage" by the sea. The gang from Worcester - Dec/Jan 2015 "
"Thank you for allowing us to create SO MANY happy memories, we had such a lovely weekend in such a beautiful setting. Gemma Lindsay, Leanne, Lea, Natalie, Karen, Sarah, Lucy, Mod and Naomi - Feb 2015"
"Fabulous food, wonderful wine, cracking company and all in THE best house ever. Thank you for making the end of 2012 and the beginning of 2013 so fantastic and memorable. See you next year! x"
"It was AMAZING!!! The hot tub was cool (I mean awesome not cold!) the beds were comfy and the location is perfect for walks with the dogs. We had great fun especially with the snooker table. It was a really special holiday, a lovely house and it was Christmas (of course). THANK YOU!!! Lloyds and Pamplins. Dec 2012"
"Another beautiful break at Southclay. Our second time here and will definitely be back again. Thank You xx Carly and friends. October 2012"
"We have had a really super holiday. The house, pool and hot tub were fantastic and there has been a lot to do. Many thanks from the Jones, the Williams and the Brooks. August 12"
"The Bagley family had a BLAST! Thanks for everything July 2012"
"We've had a fantastic week rain or shine. Southclay is excellent and more than fulfilled our expectations. Will definitely recommend it to our friends and hopefully we will be back again soon. Thank you. O'Neils from Solihull. July 2012"
"Southclay is a fantastic house & excellent location. Our welcome cream tea was delicious, thank you Jacquie! Hot tub was fab & tennis was entertaining! weather really quite good & wet days gave us an excuse to explore further afield. It's been great!! Thank you very much :-) Teresa, Martin, Lauren, Jake & Coco. June 2012"
"What a wonderful house for our first family holiday together. We all loved Southclay! Thank you for the warm welcome Jacqui. We even had some lovely weather (and not so lovely weather!) Debra & Craig Polese & family. June 2012"
"Baby Gordon’s 1st holiday aged 5 months old. Southclay was a great fit for all 10 of us + Gordon – a good find thanks to Pauline and Michael. The older boys loved the hot tub. Sunsets at dinner time in the conservatory well appreciated. Finley is now obsessed with snooker (Thanks….!) Thank you Jacqui for such a lovely welcome to this lovely house. We enjoyed being invited to join the village Jubilee celebrations – they were good fun and the weather was kind. Less kind for the rest of the week but we found ample distractions! Aylings, Cox and Reids. June 2012"
"How can we complain about the weather...what a beautiful location, the sunsets were amazing! What a lovely location for the views and scenery! Wonderful week. House amazing. Perfect for our growing family. Thanks. The Edwards and Berrys. May 2012"
"Beautiful house, lovely views + wonderful weather. Thanks for a really great holiday. Eakins & Haworth families May 12"
"We had a fantastic weekend at this wonderful house. We loved the hot tub, tennis court and even ventured in the pool! Thank you for the scones, that was a lovely touch which we really appreciated - will definitely recommend this house! Leigertwood May 2012"
"Extremely well equipped and comfortable accommodation with lots of thoughtful extras. Tasty warm welcome. Loved hot tub/tennis/swimming. Recommend walks in house folder at Hartland and Bucks. x Woodwards, Osbornes & Thurrells. April 2012 "
"Thank you very much for the loan of your lovely house! We have particularly enjoyed Woolacombe, Clovelly, Arlington Court, Padstow, Port Isaac, Combe Martin, Lynton & Lynmouth. The scones and welcome were wonderful - Thank you for making our holiday an absolute triumph! The Barrons and Hurleys Easter 2012"
"Lovely house with every comfort, super weather and a warm welcome, who could ask for more? See you again soon. Thank you Dan & Barbara March 2102"
"Beautiful place to spend a birthday, fantastic views and smashing weather. Made to feel very welcome :-) Loved hot tub Thank you Jacqui. Nicola March 2102"
"Fantastic house for a lovely girly weekend! Loved the hot tub + the whole house is amazing! Thanks you! Laura & hens March 12"
"Thank you - lovely house, great place to visit! Felt very welcome as soon as we walked through the door - definitely 5 stars! Will be back again soon! xx Carly + friends Feb 2012"
"Party of eight had a fantastic time, lots of fun, food and laughter. House is fantastic, brilliant for cooking in! Would come again. James Dec/Jan 2012"
"Luxury accommodation comprehensively equipped. Extremely comfortable. Picturesque surroundings. The energetic and the sybaritic both catered for! Thank you B. Mulley Dec 11"
"Thank you for lovely scones and friendly welcome. A fabulous weekend of friends, food and laughter. We loved the house and the chance to stop and relax in such a super setting. Lovely dinner at The Hoops Inn and great Sunday roast at The Thatched Inn (fab Halloween decorations) The Ladies from Somerset! Oct 2011"
"We had a really great weekend, didn't want it to end. Thank you so much, what a lovely place. Cath West Sept 2011"
"We've all had a fabulous time. The house has been so spacious + we all enjoyed using the facilities. The view is lovely and the location was perfect. Thank you Jacquie for making us so welcome here. The Hounsell Family September 2011"
"Thank you once again for a fantastic holiday. Our two families have been holidaying together for the past 9 years and we were all agreed that your house is the best we have stayed at for its combination of location, facilities and outstanding view. I am sure that you will see us again in the future. PS. Please could you also pass on our thanks to Maddy for babysitting. This was the first year the four of us had gone out for an adult meal - it was much appreciated! Bain and Urwin families. Aug 2011"
"Very well equipped house, great walks - recommend Hartland for walking and The Abbey for rainy days, loved the tennis court, shame the pool was too cold for us but overall a great family holiday house! The Nicolls, Hodgsons, Cantrells August 2012"
"Had a great time. Lovely house. The little ones loved the pool. We all want to take the hot tub home! Thanks you Linnells & O'Beirnes Aug 12"
"Very friendly welcome, very helpful, lovely house - all enjoyed very much. Peaceful setting, love the view. Hot tub fab! Thanks very much :-) The Dobbs, Sounders & Hunt families Aug 2011"
"Lovely spacious house in fantastic location. We enjoyed cliff walks, Tarka Trail, High Ropes, beaches at Saunton Sands + Croyde, the pool, tennis court hot tub + of course the pool table was a real winner! Many thanks Rutlands, Wrights & Patersons July 2012"
"Had a lovely week in this fab house. 5 boys had a great time using the tennis court, hot tub & pool. The weather has been great. Enjoyed surfing at Westward Ho!and also had a great day at The Big Sheep. Thanks to Jacquie for her warm welcome and her scones!! The Smiths & Willis Families June/July 2012"
"Had a fantastic hen party - amazing venue and facilities. Would definitely recommend. Many thanks. Helen June 2011"
"What a lovely treat The Annex was! We've had an absolutely lovely time in this gorgeous place. I am now a hot tub convert! We are already planning a return trip! Thank you for your fantastic hospitality. Lorna, Joe & Matthew McTigue Sept 2012"
"We were so impressed when we walked into the Annex. It exceeded our expectations and was absolutely beautiful. A fabulous location too. Westward Ho! beach is so perfect for the kids and we all loved playing tennis. If the weather had been better we would have made plenty more use of the pool too. Thank you for a wonderful week x The Wilson Family August 2012"
"We have had a lovely week in The Annexe, thank you. Despite the weather we've swum, surfed, played tennis, walked, cycled and generally worn ourselves out! We'll definitely be back! Thank you. The Jenkins August 2012"
"Dear Jacquie Thank you SO much for making our stay so stunning! We had a wonderful time! Will definitely be back  PS Thank you for the South African flag, we will fly it proudly and were honoured to have you fly it for us outside the Annex during the Olympics! The Cadans (South Africa) July/Aug 2012"
"WOW! What a week... Clear blue skies from beginning to end... Better weather than we had in the South of France last year!!! And as for The Annex - superb! Thank you Jacquie and Steve, loved meeting you and sharing some incredible sunsets. Without a doubt we will be returning, in fact you may find one of our kids hidden in a cupboard! Many many thanks xxx (The best house I have ever stayed in - love Sam. See you next year, look after jelly cat and dragon, love Kim xx Totally awesome love Scot) The Anderson family July 2012"
"The Annex was lovely. Surfing was great, Clovelly was great, The Big Sheep was great family fun. Fabulous week. WILL BE BACK xx Rutherford family June/July 2012"
"We were extremely excited to be the first guests to stay at The Annex. It lived up to its luxurious billing! While the weather was awful so we didn't get to take full advantage of the pool and tennis court, we had a great time cooking, relaxing & enjoying the area. Our hosts were fabulous - Jackie lent us fishing knives and gave us a crash course on gutting, & gave us lots of great local knowledge. We loved our stay at The Annex - comfy bed, good kitchen, DVDs - a home away from home! Thanks so much for a great stay - we'll be back! :-) Jules Cavey & Antony Iredale Queen's Jubilee 2012"
"We had a fantastic time, thanks so much for all the little etras which make your house so special. Kiad and Adults loved the hot tub, and the log stove. Litle ones wanted to take the whole house home with them at the end of the week. Already talking about rebooking with more friends. Thanks. Matthew White & Family. May 2011"
"A wonderful break! Had some fabulous weather - no rain all week. Southclay was perfect for us all. We loved stargazing from the hot tub on the frosty evenings and long walks on the cliffs. Will definitely be back soon. Feb 2010 "
"A beautiful setting for a New Year break. Weather 2nd half of the week chilly but glorious! Hot tub a delight at the end of every day and a real fire a wonderul treat! Thank you! Crawleys, Salmons & Jones's, Jan 2010"
"Thank you so much for a lovely holiday and for heating the pool! Enjoyed the tennis, swimming, hot tub and pool table. Can recommend Meddons Lane fish and chips on the road into Bideford and the pasty shop a few doors down from there. Also had a good meal at the lovely "Thatched Inn". The boys enjoyed The Big Sheep and the High Ropes. Also enjoyed cycling the Tarka Trail & visiting Appledore. Thank you again for your hospitality & lovely house! Davies & Ward families (including 5 boys!) April 2010"
"Amazing location, fabulous facilities and a wonderful weekend had by all. Thank you so much! Rosie, Holly and "the hens...!" May 2010"
"Wonderful House, beautiful views, fantastic weather - what more could you want? John & Jannice, May 2010"
"Great house! Fantastic location wih amazing views. Very very comfortable - would definitely come back!! Thanks Jacquie. Hughes/Pellen Families, May 2010"
"The house and weather were amazing - the pool was an absolute delight, could have been in the Mediterranean! Who would ever travel abroad when we have the West of England on our doorstep? June 2010"
"Lovely house, beautiful views and fantastic hot tub! We've had a great break. Thank you Jacqui for such a warm welcome! Sahajpal Family, June 2010"
"Lovely house, plenty to do. Despite the weather, pool and hot tub had plenty of use. Eden Project is sworth a visit. The beach was fun at Westward Ho and the kids loved the arcades. The Balls July 2010"
"The Borrill Family - Thank you for a wonderful time and allowing us to bring our puppy who loved your garden! Was great having the hot tub, pool and tennis court also! We will be back! July 2010"
"Fabulous house - we had a great time. Beaches are lovely, boogie boarding was brilliant at Westward Ho! Tarka Trail from Torrington to Bideford is a must! The Margretts Family "
"Had a lovely time with my family in your lovely home. Area fantastic (even weed in the sea!!!) Bennet Seniors Aug 2010 for 2 weeks."
"A lovely house which worked well for our large group. Despite the weather we had a great time. The hot tub was particularly fab after a very cold kayaking session! Foster/Moffatt/Harrisons. 20th Aug 2010"
"Wonderful accommodation with first class facilities. Pool table and hot tub were great hits. We even managed to use the tennis court and pool. Despite the wet weather everyone enjoyed themselves Baird/Griffiths/Carter, Aug 2010"
"4th Sept 2011: This week a motley collection of Kiwis, runners, surfers and other cool people (George) stayed at Southclay to celebrate the wedding of Chris and Paula from New Zealand. Facilities were excelent and our stay was truely enjoyable."
"Had a fantastic week - great house and facilities. Grandad loved the snooker table and the kids had great fun in the pool and the hot tub. Learnt to surf at Westward Ho! - great rental facilities behind the beach. Our youngest enjoyed the Big Sheep + High Ropes. Many thanks - The Lazenbys, October 2011"
"What a lovely location for a winter break! The coast is spectacular! Many fabulous walks and bike rides with a huge but warm and cosy "home" to come back to. Three generations all loved it and GREAT value at this time of year! Thank you - the extended James family, Nov 2010"
"NEW YEAR 2011 - Jacquie, thank you so much for such a wonderful few days. This was the perfect way to welcome in the New Year. We hope to return in warmer months if you will have us! Vicky, Melissa et al xxx"
"Wonderful family house, child friendly (and parent friendly – as plenty to keep them occupied even when the weather is not good!) and very comfortable – highly recommend. Weldon & Hunt families"
"Wish we could have stayed longer! We had such a GOOD time and the house was gorgeous – the whole place is beautiful. It is a great place for a party and a special thank you to Jackie who was really helpful. If you will have us we will definitely be back! Ps. Had a good laugh at the Big Sheep just down the hill. “The Guernsey Girls”"
"What a wonderful place! Perfect for a family reunion. The amenities enabled us to have such fun amongst ourselves. We will always remember this special holiday, thank you. Bennett family, Aug 2009"
"We had some lovely sunshine on some days but every day went to the beach – playing sports on the sand and surfing in the waves. Thank you Jacquie for helping us make this a very special week with our families. Quantrils, Paynes & Saggers"
"This is our 3rd visit here and it has been as wonderful as ever. Hopefully we will be back next year! Liz"
"Thank you Jackie – fabulous house – despite RUBBISH weather we have had an amazing week. We love the hot tub & the fact we can “lose” all our children in loads of different activities here! Thanks for all your helpfull tips and advice – Hope the weather gets better next week! Desperate Housewives on Tour! Aug 2010"
"Lovely house, wonderful view! We had a fantastic time celebrating 2 40th birthdays! Happy days! Laura"
"Lovely Devon scones & cream!! Fantastic break in a beautiful house + stunning views. Many thanks Jacqui for your hospitality. A weekend to remember. The Stockley & Rumsby Families, Sept 2009"
"Happy, happy time! Beautiful place! Phil & Sue"
"Fabulous house with great facilities. Tennis was a great hit with all. Thank you for the lovely welcome – scones were delicious!! Hextall & Frame families"
"Beautiful house, amazing hot tub, tennis court and pool and fantastic location – thank you so much! Liz & Ryan"
"A lovely house in a great spot. Fab weather has made it an even more enjoyable week than anticipated. Thank you! Goughs, Underwoods & Woods"
"A wonderful house and a wonderful welcome. We felt so at home here - & adore the hot tub & that incredible view!An excellent holiday venue, we would love to take it with us & would heartlily recommend it to anyone! Norcross & Woodwand families"
"A good time had by all in a great house and environment – 2 sunny days much appreciated but damp didn’t dampen our fun! Suzanna,"
"2 weeks of bliss! What a great house! We will definitely be recommending it and hope to be back (shame about the weather!)"
"Jacquie was really helpful and was able to provide lot of local knowledge e.g. about suitable horseriding for the children. The house was great for our three generations with something for everyone and was spacious enough for us to feel that we all had plenty of room. The tennis court and hot tub were well used. The area meant that there was lots to do from visiting sculpture parks and national trust properties to surfing at Westward Ho!, climbing on the high ropes and making use of the retail outlet a mile up the road. Rating 5 out of 5, Mike & Denise, Oct 2009."
"Great Property, Excellent facilities inside and out. Lots of room and GREAT views to the sea. Easy reach of local attractions. Rating 5 out of 5, Steve, Apr 2010."
"Very luxurious and comfortable with lots of facilities on site (pool/snooker table, tennis court, swimming pool). Owner very friendly and approachable. Property situated in lovely village with post office, pub, play park, high ropes course and adventure centre all within a couple of minutes. Excellent house for a large family group – plenty of space, lovely large, social kitchen. Rating 4.5 out of 5 (only loses half a mark because 2 of the hob rings weren’t working!), Sarah, Apr 2010. "
"The house is very luxurious; everything you could possibly need is there. Lots of room for everybody and enough bedrooms and bathrooms to maintain your own personal space if you need it!! Loads to do in and around the house, and easily accessible to the coastal path and local beaches. We went on a family holiday ages from 6-64 and all had a great time. Rating 5 out of 5, Lynn, June 2010."
"Southclay is a beautiful spacious property which easily accommodated our 6 children and 4 adults. The hot tub was a particular favourite of the younger children. The house is beautifully decorated to a high standard and the views are amazing. Jacquie is very approachable and accommodating. You will not be disappointed if you choose to stay in this house. Rating 5 out of 5, Manjit, June 2010."
Book Direct with the owner

 

GOOD AVAILABILITY FOR FABULOUS AUTUMN BREAKS

Crisp, frosty mornings with mist in the valleys, scrunchy golden leaves

What a great time of year!

_________________ 

CHRISTMAS STILL AVAILABLE


Sign up to our mailing list

"What a lovely treat The Annex was! We've had an absolutely lovely time in this gorgeous place. I am now a hot tub convert! We are already planning a return trip! Thank you for your fantastic hospitality. Lorna, Joe & Matthew McTigue Sept 2012"